Nantucket History

A Space That Seeps In Nantucket History

A Nantucket history lesson: The Manor House, built in the late 1800s, used to be known as the Royal Manor.
The Manor House in the 1920’s (known at the time as the Royal Manor).

Nantucket strikes an elusive balance between cherishing and respecting the past while also embracing the present. The island’s stunning natural beauty and architectural style dates back to its roots as a 17th-century whaling port, with pitched roofs and unpainted shingles that have weathered to a soft gray. Whale signs and decorations can be seen at almost every boutique shop as a nod to Nantucket history, and Main Street maintains its original, charming cobblestone makeup to this very day.

Our collection of inns in the heart of downtown also embodies that rich Nantucket history. The namesake of our collection, the Roberts House, was built in 1846 after the Great Fire destroyed a large section of downtown Nantucket. Originally owned by the Roberts sisters, daughters of a whaling ship captain, the Roberts House was designed in a style typical of the whaling era during which it was constructed. Likely due to its central location in the heart of downtown, the Roberts House was one of the first single-family homes on Nantucket to be converted to an inn and has operated as such for over 100 years.

Two of our other buildings, the Manor and Meeting Houses, were built shortly after the Roberts House in the late 1800s. Our newest addition, the Gate House, was built in 2013 — but that age gap doesn’t take away from the historic nature of our collection. Its golden shingles, intricate siding, and white window panes fit right in with the other houses. Not only do our inns serve as architectural odes to Nantucket history, they’re all fully equipped with modern-day amenities, so our guests can immerse themselves in Nantucket’s authentic story while also enjoying their time on the island.